Frigid Fun | Heather Krah Photography | Pittsburgh Photographer

Prior to moving back and settling in our home town of Pittsburgh, PA my husband and I lived all over the country.  We experienced just about every climate at one point or another.  One of our longest stretches of residence was the 3 1/2 years we lived in Grand Forks, North Dakota.  Growing up in southwestern PA it can get cold, but the first time I experienced ND cold it was like nothing I could have ever imagined.  When we moved from there to Las Vegas (not too much of an extreme change there, right?) there was no looking back.  Until yesterday…  While I was not overjoyed to be experiencing these types of temperatures again…for the record the coldest I experienced was, I believe, -32 without wind chill…I figured I’d make the best of it and, of course, photograph it.  NOTE:  I did not photograph my throwing boiling water into the air to make it vaporize/create snow…that in itself is dangerous enough, figured it best to not double the injury odds as I am notoriously accident prone.  I’ll stop blabbing now…here’s what I did!

Macro shots of the ice crystals on the sliding glass doors in my sun room.

Frozen Bubbles

(I whipped up some home made ones because of course I couldn’t find the gazillion bottles that my kids have around the house…I’ll post the recipe I used below)

I love that you can see the crystallization inside this one!

My happy accident Pinterest fail…  I was to impatient to let the water in the balloons freeze and when I opened them the extra liquid leaked out.  I was left with a hollow ice ball…pretty cool!

Some of the other failed attempts…but I love how the light comes through them!  I may try to photograph them again tonight lit with Christmas lights.  A suggestion made by a fellow photographer friend.

If you did any fun experiments yesterday I’d love to see photos!  Post them to my Facebook wall here!

In case you were interested in making your own bubbles…to freeze or just for fun…this is the recipe that I used:

4 Cups Warm Water

1/2 Cup Sugar

1/2 Cup Dish Soap (I used Dawn)

Dissolve the sugar in the warm water then add the dish soap stirring gently as to not create froth.

Store in an air tight container.

Until next time… Me

 

5 thoughts on “Frigid Fun | Heather Krah Photography | Pittsburgh Photographer

Leave a Reply

